About Yusef Komunyakaa

Mr. Komunyakaa’s twelve books of poetry include Taboo, Dien Cai Dau, Neon Vernacular , for which he received the Pulitzer Prize, and most recently Warhorses . He has been the recipient of numerous awards including the William Faulkner Prize (Universite Rennes, France), the Kingsley Tufts Award for Poetry, and the Poetry Society of America’s Shelley Memorial Award. His recently performed collaborations include Slipknot with TJ Anderson, Wakonda’s Dream with Anthony Davis, Nine Bridges Back with Billy Bang, War Horses with Susie Ibarra and Roberto Rodriguez, The Mercy Suite with Tomas Doncker, and a staged reading of Gilgamesh (a verse play) with Chad Gracia. A forthcoming collection of poetry, The Chameleon Couch , will be published in 2011 (FSG). He teaches at New York University.



Dedications and Other Darkhorses (R.M.C.A.J. Books, 1977)

Lost in the Bone Wheel Factory (Lynx House, 1979)

Copacetic (Wesleyan University Press, 1984)

I Apologize for the Eyes in My Head (Wesleyan University Press, 1986)

Toys in a Field (Black River Press, 1986)

Dien Cai Dau (Wesleyan University Press, 1988)

Magic City (Wesleyan University Press, 1992)

Neon Vernacular (Wesleyan University Press, 1993)

Thieves of Paradise (Wesleyan University Press, 1998)

Pleasure Dome (Wesleyan University Press, 2001)

Talking Dirty to the Gods (Farrar Straus Giraux, 2001)

Taboo (Farrar Straus Giraux, 2004)

Gilgamesh (Wesleyan University Press, 2006)

Warhorses (Farrar Strauss and Giroux, 2008)

The Chameleon Couch (Farrar, Strauss and Giroux, 2011)